Latest News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Appointments Made to the Circulation and Planning Commissions

Post Date:04/25/2018

The Lafayette City Council, at its April 23, 2018, meeting made appointments to the City’s Circulation and Planning Commissions. Appointed to the Circulation Commission were Susan Candell, Kim Robinson and Vianney Serriere. Gregory Mason was appointed to the Planning Commission.

Susan Candell is an engineer with Carl Zeiss X-ray Microscopy, Inc., and has lived in Lafayette for 21 years. She holds a Master’s Degree in Nuclear Engineering from MIT. She serves on the boards of the Lafayette Community Foundation, the Springhill Valley Homeowners Association and other organizations.  Her term expires June 30, 2018. Kim Robinson, whose term expires June 30, 2018, is an attorney with the US Department of Labor and has a Master’s Degree from Harvard in education policy. She has been a resident of Lafayette for less than a year. Vianney Serriere, who has lived in Lafayette for 27 years, is an avid bicyclist and astronomer. In addition to his public service, he has 35 years of art direction/graphic design experience working for large corporations. His term ends June 30, 2019.

These new members join Elizabeth Johnson, Chair, Carl Di Giorgio, Vice Chair, Lynn Hiden and Kirstina Strum on the Commission.  The Circulation Commission reviews policy matters that affect the City's right-of-way and relate to the Circulation Element of the General Plan. The Commission advises the City Council on matters pertaining to traffic safety, bikeways and other issues.

Gregory Mason is a Senior Structural Plans Examiner with West Coast Code Consultants and has lived in Lafayette for 55 years. He has undertaken a number of volunteer engineering and structural assessments for non-profit organizations. His term expires June 30, 2018.

Mason joins Gary Huisingh, Vice Chair, and Steven Bliss on the Commission. The City Council Planning Commission liaisons are still interviewing candidates for the remaining vacant seats on the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission is charged with development of the General Plan, implementation and administration of the Zoning Ordinance and review of development applications. 

Return to full list >>